Our network

Arkansas Tech to invest in emergency generators | Business

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Arkansas Tech to invest in emergency generators
Arkansas Tech to invest in emergency generators

RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. (April 16, 2015)--Arkansas Tech University will soon have enhanced capacity to continue operations in the event of a power outage following action by the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees during its meeting at the Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center on Thursday.

            Trustees voted to purchase and install a natural gas-operated generator for McEver Hall and a diesel-operated generator for Corley Hall. The board awarded a contract for the project to low bidder Evatt Electric Inc. of Vilonia in the amount of $304,603.

            “The purpose of these generators is to enable our technology systems to remain in operation should we have a loss of electrical power,” wrote David Moseley, Arkansas Tech senior vice president for administration and finance, in a memorandum concerning the generators.

            In other business on Thursday, the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees approved:

            *a letter of notification concerning a reorganization of the College of Professional Studies that will result in it being re-named the College of eTech with a focus on online education as of July 1, 2015;

            *beginning the search for an architectural firm to design a proposed new facility for the Department of Public Safety;

            *demolition of the university-owned structure at 900 North El Paso Ave., a former residence that the institution has used as a storage facility;

            *a contract in the amount of $490,872 to low bidder Faulkner Plumbing and Mechanical of Conway to install a new boiler and chiller for Paine Residence Hall;

            *a contract in the amount of $691,910 to low bidder Ketcher and Company Inc. of North Little Rock to install a new roof on the Technology and Academic Support facility at Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus;

            *the signature card for Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus to allow the appropriate personnel to conduct necessary and proper banking transactions on behalf of the institution;

            *a transfer of $82,611 from unappropriated educational and general funds to infrastructure reserve accounts to fund future facility enhancements at Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus;

            In personnel-related matters, trustees approved the hiring of Steven A. Berg as assistant professor of psychology, Dr. David R. Blanks as professor of history and head of the Department of History and Political Science and Dr. Rajib Choudhury as assistant professor of chemistry for the 2015-16 academic year.

            Dr. Christine E. Austin was appointed director of assessment and institutional effectiveness as of June 1, 2015. She will maintain her faculty rank of associate professor of college student personnel.

            The board named Rachel Bullock as bookstore manager, Angela Crow as director of student accounts and Brandon Wright as director of career services. All three of those appointments are effective May 1, 2015.

            Trustees accepted the resignations of Dr. Sherry Field, dean of the College of Education and professor of curriculum and instruction, effective June 30, 2015; and Courtney Mullen, director of graduate support services, effective April 30, 2015.