Our network

Four named Arkansas Teacher of the Year state finalists | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Four named Arkansas Teacher of the Year state finalists

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Four outstanding teachers were named 2016 Arkansas Teacher of the Year state finalists at a recognition event today with Gov. Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner Johnny Key. 

“Selecting just four teachers from an exceptional group of talented educators was a difficult process,” Key said. “The four state finalists chosen, however, have demonstrated leadership, knowledge and the ability to inspire students in the classroom. I congratulate them, as well as their administrators and fellow educators.”

The four state finalists are as follows:

Meghan Ables

11th Grade English/Literacy
Stuttgart High School
Stuttgart School District
Arkansas River Education Service Cooperative 

Brenda Galliher

8th Grade Science
Nashville Junior High School
Nashville School District
DeQueen-Mena Education Service Cooperative

Stephanie Goodman

6th Grade Mathematics
Hot Springs Intermediate School
Hot Springs School District
Dawson Education Service Cooperative 

Michael Rogers

9th-12th Grade Agriculture
Siloam Springs High School
Siloam Springs School District
Northwest Education Service Cooperative 

The four state finalists were selected from among the 15 regional finalists, who also were recognized at the event today. The ATOY Selection Committee will conduct site visits with the four state finalists, and the 2016 ATOY will be recognized at a surprise notification event later this fall.

The regional finalists each received a $1,000 award sponsored by the Walton Family Foundation. The 2016 ATOY will receive an additional $14,000. 

To learn more about the ATOY program, go to http://www.arkansased.gov/divisions/communications/teacher-of-the-year.